The Governors work closely with the Headteacher and staff in order to ensure that the school’s objectives can be met. The Governing Body consists of the Headteacher, parents, members nominated by the Local Authority, Community Governors and representatives of the teaching and support staff of the school. Meetings of the full Governing Body are usually held every half term and sub-committees also meet regularly. Parent Governors are appointed as a result of nominations and elections in which all parents are eligible to stand and vote. One of their particular responsibilities is to provide a viewpoint from that of ‘parent’ to the Governing Body. If Parents wish to contact a Governor they may write, in confidence, addressed c/o the school.

Mrs Victoria Green

Mr John Jolly

Chair of Governors

Dr Ann Harris

Ms Anneliese Fothergill

Co Vice Chair of Governors

Ms Liz Godman

Co Vice Chair of Governors

Mrs Viv Barraclough

Name Type of Governor Specific Responsibilities and Links Current Term of Office from Current Term of Office to
Mrs Victoria Green Co-opted Governor

Careers education

Culture of reading

Teaching and learning

School improvement plan

Staff CPD

7/12/18 6/12/22
Dr Ann Harris Co-opted Governor

Culture of reading

Curriculum - English

24/02/18 23/02/22
Mrs Viv Barraclough Parent Governor

Curriculum - Humanities

Curriculum - Science

Health and safety

4/11/20 3/11/24
Mr John Jolly

Co-opted Governor


Pupil health and wellbeing

Curriculum - PSHCE

Staff health and wellbeing

Governor induction and training

28/9/20 27/9/24
Mr Christopher Taylor Headteacher   Continuous Continuous
Anneliese Fothergill Co-opted Governor (Co Vice Chair)

Educational / academic data

Curriculum - maths

Finance - health and efficiency



Liz Godman Co-opted Governor (Co Vice Chair)

Safeguarding and child Protection


Education equality including premiums


28/9/20 27/9/24
Previous Members Governor Type Date Stepped Down
Emma Charlesworth Staff Governor February 2021
Mrs Donna Sheldon-Wright Parent Governor September 2020
Gary Johnson Headteacher December 2019
Polly Harrow-Wright Co-Opted Governor July 2019
Mr David Greenhalgh Parent Governor November 2019

Current vacancies: 1 Parent Governor and 1 Staff Governor 

The Chair of Governors can be contacted, in writing, via the school office. The Chair of Governors will send an acknowledgement of receipt within 48 hours.

Governing Body Register of Interests

Governors Meetings Attendance

Meeting Minutes

Governing Body Meeting Minutes 2020-2021

2019-2020 Meeting Minutes

2018-2019 Meeting Minutes

2017-2018 Meeting Minutes

2016-2017 Meeting Minutes

2015-2016 Meeting Minutes

Our Chair of Governors - Mr John Jolly, can be contacted via the school office

Please click here to view the government 'Get information about schools' website

Click here to view the MAST Governance Structure

© Copyright 2020–2022 Kirkburton Middle School