“The headteacher, governors and senior leaders are ambitious for all pupils. They have addressed rigorously all of the areas for improvement from the previous inspection, and now teaching, pupils’ achievement and leadership and management, are all good.”

“The governing body is adept at holding school leaders to account. Governors receive, and understand, detailed information and data about the school’s work.”

(Ofsted : April 2015)

  • The Governors work closely with the Headteacher and staff in order to ensure that the school’s objectives can be met.
  • The Governing Body consists of the Headteacher, parents, members nominated by the Local Authority, Community Governors and representatives of the teaching and support staff of the school.
  • Meetings of the full Governing Body are usually held every half term and sub-committees also meet regularly.
  • Parent Governors are appointed as a result of nominations and elections in which all parents are eligible to stand and vote. One of their particular responsibilities is to provide a viewpoint from that of ‘parent’ to the Governing Body.
  • If Parents wish to contact a Governor they may write, in confidence, addressed c/o the school.
Name Type of Governor Date of Appointment Term of Office
Mrs Victoria Green Co-opted Governor (Chair) 07.12.2018 4 years
Mrs Harpaven Kaur Ghuman LA Governor 26.09.12 Stepped down May 2016
Mr Neil Gemmell Co-opted Governor 17.05.2015 Stepped down Feb 2018
Dr Ann Harris Co-opted Governor 26.02.2018 4 years
Mrs Maxine Morris Co-opted Governor (Vice Chair) 02.09.2013 Stepped down in 2016
Mr John Papworth Co-opted Governor 07.12.2018 4 years
Mr Michael Pitchford Co-opted Governor 10.06.2015 Stepped down Sep 2017
Mr Graham Smith Co-opted Governor 10.02.2014 Stepped down Sep 2017
Mrs Janine Adams Parent Governor 30.11.2015 Stepped down Aug 2016
Mrs Viv Barraclough Parent Governor 05.11.2016 4 years
Mrs Donna Sheldon-Wright Parent Governor 20.10.2016 4 years
Mrs Ruth Coneron Parent Governor 13.02.2016 Stepped down in 2016
Mr Gary Johnson Headteacher Continuous Continuous
Miss Emma Charlesworth Staff Governor 04.10.2018 4 years
Mrs Lynn Robinson Bursar-Associate Member 05.07.2012 Stepped down Oct 2017
Mr David Greenhalgh  Parent Governor  07.09.2017  Stepped down Nov 2019
Polly Harrow-Wright Co-opted Governor 12.04.18  Stepped down July 2019
Annelise Fothergill Co-opted Governor 08.05.18 4 years

There is 1 Trustee Appointed Governor Vacancy


The Chair of Governors can be contacted, in writing, via the school office. The Chair of Governors will send an acknowledgement of receipt within 48 hours.



Business Interest Returns

NameNature of BusinessNature of InterestDate of Appointment or AqusitionDate of Cessation of InterestDate of Entry
Mrs Victoria GreenNil Return
Mr Neil GemmellAwaiting Return
Dr Ann HarrisJournal of Vocational Education and TrainingDirector1998Ongoing20.11.2017
Mr John PapworthNil Return
Mrs Viv BarracloughNil Return
Mrs Donna Sheldon-WrightNil Return
Mr Gary JohnsonNil Return
Miss Emma CharlesworthNil Return
Mr David GreenhalghNil Return
Polly Harrow-WrightNil Return
Anneliese FothergillCommissioning Lead, Wakefield City Council01.12.2017Ongoing08.07.2018

Meeting attendance

Meeting Date % Attendance
25th September 2018 100%
21st November 2018 80%
24th January 2019 80%
18th March 2019 70%
7th May 2019 100%
8th July 2019 89%