“The headteacher, governors and senior leaders are ambitious for all pupils. They have addressed rigorously all of the areas for improvement from the previous inspection, and now teaching, pupils’ achievement and leadership and management, are all good.”

“The governing body is adept at holding school leaders to account. Governors receive, and understand, detailed information and data about the school’s work.”

(Ofsted : April 2015)

  • The Governors work closely with the Headteacher and staff in order to ensure that the school’s objectives can be met.
  • The Governing Body consists of the Headteacher, parents, members nominated by the Local  Authority, Community Governors and representatives of the teaching and support staff of the school.
  • Meetings of the full Governing Body are usually held every half term and sub-committees also meet regularly.
  • Parent Governors are appointed as a result of nominations and elections in which all parents are eligible to stand and vote. One of their particular responsibilities is to provide a viewpoint from that of ‘parent’ to the Governing Body.
  • If Parents wish to contact a Governor they may write, in confidence, addressed c/o the school.
Name Type of Governor Date of Appointment Term of Office
Mrs Victoria Green Co-opted Governor (Chair) 08.12.2014 4 years
Mrs Harpaven Kaur Ghuman LA Governor 26.09.12 Stepped down May 2016
Mr Neil Gemmell Co-opted Governor 17.05.2015 4 years
Dr Ann Harris Co-opted Governor 24.02.2014 4 years
Mrs Maxine Morris Co-opted Governor (Vice Chair) 02.09.2013 Stepped down in 2016
Mr John Papworth Co-opted Governor 04.10.2014 4 years
Mr Michael Pitchford Co-opted Governor 10.06.2015 4 years
Mr Graham Smith Co-opted Governor 10.02.2014 4 years
Mrs Janine Adams Parent Governor 30.11.2015 Stepped down Aug 2016
Mrs Viv Barraclough Parent Governor 05.11.2016 4 years
Mrs Donna Sheldon-Wright Parent Governor 20.10.2016 4 years
Mrs Ruth Coneron Parent Governor 13.02.2016 Stepped down in 2016
Mr Gary Johnson Headteacher Continuous Continuous
Miss Emma Charlesworth Staff Governor 04.10.2014 4 years
Mrs Lynn Robinson Bursar-Associate Member 05.07.2012 4 years

If you would like to contact the Chair of Governors, please address your letter to Mrs Green and the office will forward your letter to her. Alternatively please e-mail the school office (click here) and your email will be forwarded to the Chair.


 Governor Attendance Record 2015-17

Minutes of Whole Governors Meetings

PACElogo ceopreportbtn